Hyndman Award

The Vancouver Bar Association is pleased to announce that the Peter S. Hyndman Mentorship Award will be awarded at this year’s Annual General Meeting.

The Peter S. Hyndman Mentorship Award is conferred each year to recognize a lawyer who has distinguished himself or herself as an outstanding mentor. Peter was, himself,  an exemplary mentor who made extraordinary efforts to pass on his legal skills,  wisdom, ethical insights, good judgment, commitment to decorum and civility, and idealism to those who had the good fortune to work with him.

To make a nomination, kindly send a letter of not more than 500 words outlining the reasons why you consider your nominee to be a fit and proper candidate for the award, by email, to committee member Samantha Chang at samantha.chang@dentons.com on or before Friday, October 14, 2022. The nomination must be endorsed by five additional members, or former members, of the Law Society of British Columbia. The five endorsers are also welcome to provide additional letters of support not to exceed 250 words each.

Candidates must be British Columbia lawyers, retired lawyers or former lawyers who have been appointed to the bench or have recently gone on to careers in politics,  business or other fields. Nominations of candidates from across a wide spectrum of practice experience and personal circumstances are encouraged. We hope to receive nominations for candidates of all genders in small firms and large ones; for lawyers in large, urban practices and small community ones; for lawyers who work in private practice – at private firms and in-house – and in public sector environments.

While outstanding mentorship qualities may be found alongside other qualities that can give a candidate prominence within the profession or the community at large, that prominence is not a prerequisite for the recognition that the Hyndman Award is intended to bestow. Indeed, sometimes lawyers who are excellent mentors enjoy a  lower profile than other lawyers precisely because the necessarily private and  ‘behind the scenes’ character of mentorship, together with its considerable time demands, lessens the opportunities those mentors have for enhancing their personal,  public profiles. We wish to ensure that lawyers from many backgrounds who dedicate great effort to bringing young lawyers along in a broad range of settings are reflected among the nominations we receive.

Candidates must be available to attend the presentation ceremony at the Vancouver  Bar Association’s Annual General Meeting at 6:00 p.m. on Thursday, November 17, 2022.

Past recipients of the award include Gaynor Yeung, William S. Berardino, Q.C., Richard C. Peck, Q.C., Leonard T. Doust, Q.C., Leon Getz, Q.C., Robert G. Ward, Q.C., Bruce R. Grist, Donald W. Yule Q.C., Tom Roper Q.C., Jan Lindsay Q.C., Nazeer T. Mitha and Tom Braidwood Q.C.